Things to Remember

The past week was rough. I spent most of it stressed, overwhelmed, and disappointed.

It was enough to make me cry today. The only time I cry anymore is while I’m watching TV or giving a heartfelt speech about something. The fact that I cried today because I was emotionally exhausted? Yeah, that was kind of major.

When I was done crying, I was able to remind myself all the things I have to be grateful for. I have a lot to be grateful for.

Over a month ago, a friend of mine lost her father… but she still smiles and laughs and makes jokes.

Last year, my best friend’s mother was diagnosed was cancer. She had an operation and she’s been in remission since, but I forget how scared my friend was. Her mother always hugs and kisses me when she sees me.

Last year, my mom’s friend lost her son to cancer. He was 20 years years old. Parents are not supposed to bury their children, especially when they haven’t gotten a chance to do most of their living.

These are the kind of events I feel like are truly impossible to come back from, but they all did. They have all lived beyond their pain and fear and loss.

And so, the things I have been feeling this week? I can handle them.

Leave a Reply

