Oh, Nice of You to Show Up Again…

Well, I’ve been absent from this blog for a minute!

I say that at the beginning of every post. I think I just need to accept that I can’t keep up a blog worth shit.

Anyways…

I got into grad school about three or so weeks ago. In the fall, I’ll be studying at USC’s School of Cinematic Arts. Yes, that’s right, bitches! I not only got into film school, but I got into THE BEST FILM SCHOOL IN THE WORLD! I was pretty high on myself for about a week after I found out. And then monotony and bullshit set back in. I’m still excited, but it’s a more turned down, conservative version. I’ll be back on my you-can’t-tell-me-shit-right-now, Beyoncé-ish vibes in the summer as registration and the first day of classes get closer.

My web series is also coming along. We’ve finally wrapped production — except for one tiny, pesky thing that needs to be reshot. We’re promoting the shit out of it through social media, so if you’d like updates on this labor of love, you can visit the Facebook page and the Tumblr for GIRL, GET YO’ LIFE!. 

I can’t believe we’re already in the middle of March. Like, where the fuck does time go?

I low-key began another healthy living journey this week. Right now, I’m focusing on the diet and nutrition part of it. Or trying to anyway. (It’s hard, but not as hard as I make it seem.) And I remember to the last time I was seriously trying to get my health together at the beginning of 2013, when I vowed to lose 100+ lbs. and wrote a blog about it. And oh, look… THAT NEVER HAPPENED! I punked out after less than three months. I did lose like, 25 lbs. though! But then I gained them all back… and then some.

Anyways… When did this become about my weight/health issues and major life failures? This is getting way heavier than it was meant to.

I just brought all of that up because all of that happened TWO YEARS AGO, and I can’t believe it. Time just moves by so fucking fast the older you get. Like, it’s been four years since I was in college. FOUR YEARS. OK, I will stop typing things in all caps now, but that’s how flabbergasted I am by how fast life literally moves.

With transitioning from youth work to online media work and getting into grad school and producing this web series, I’ve just come to realize how important it is to spend your time invested in doing things you’re wildly passionate about. And not only that, but to also make sure you’re spending time dong things that are meaningful and keep you engaged.

Basically, do what you love and don’t waste time doing lots of other dumb shit. This is easier said than done.

I still spend a lot of time doing a lot of dumb shit. And I don’t do enough of the things I want to do. I spend so much time on social media, attached to a computer or phone screen — which is somewhat valid, because of work — that I don’t do much living anymore, it feels like at times. As much as I love media and the Internet and technology and the fact that my lifestyle allows me to stay in yoga pants pretty much all day, that shit’s not healthy and it doesn’t make me feel like a good human. But it’s so easy to confuse being active online with having a real, full life. And I feel like I kind of do that now.

It’s such a huge distraction, and it keeps me from focusing on real shit. You know, like writing regularly. And applying for freelance positions. And finding other small creative projects to pursue. Or leaving the house to absorb fresh air and sunlight. Or maintaing legitimate friendships with other people that are not facilitated by screens and “likes” and surface interactions.

I’m just reminded sometimes that there’s so much more I could be doing with my time than being online all day, hoping something I post is noticed… or figuring out what the latest celebrity “news” is… or binge-watching some TV show on Netflix.

I think I’ve been doing a little bit better. I decided to give up all video streaming services for Lent. No Netflix, Hulu Plus, HBO GO, or Showtime Anytime. I’ve cheated twice now, by watching The Wire On Demand through my AT&T U-Verse app. (Does that even really count?) But it’s not exactly the same. When I’m streaming shows, I can do it for like, twelve hours straight. But if I’m actually watching a physical television, I can do it for a couple of hours tops. I thought I would miss it more than I do, but I think I just really needed a break.

I don’t really have much else to say. I always feel like I’m bullshitting my three subscribers when I blog, because I “don’t be talkin’ about nothin’.” But I felt compelled tonight, so here it is…

Now I’m either going to fall asleep or Facebook creep on people I don’t actually care about that much. I’m so good at Friday nights…

Leave a Reply

